Spartan athletes honored at athletic banquet

By Adam Capps

May 27, 2014

Union High School held its annual Athletic Awards Presentation, Thursday, May 15, 2014. This is the time of year when we recognize our teams and athletes for their hard work throughout the school year. Union awards one “Spartan Award” for each sport. This award is based on: athletic ability, athletic accomplishments, work ethic, contributions to the team, conduct and many small items that make the winner special.

Winners this year included Isaias Campos for swimming; Jordan Blackburn for JV football; Dezmond Faison and Dustin Alphin for varsity football; Tyler Ross for golf; Rodolfo Sandoval, Jr for boys soccer; Chris Nash for JV basketball; Brandon Lovette for varsity basketball; Lauren Preddy for varsity girls basketball; Allison Alphin for JV volleyball; Erica West for varsity volleyball; Asia Henry for girls track and field; Dezmond Faison for boys track and field, and Blanca Herrera for girls soccer.

The Scholar Athlete of the Year Award had a name change this year, it is now named “The Mitchell Naylor Scholar Athlete of the Year Award,” in honor of long time teacher and coach Mitchell Naylor. Naylor was the girls’ basketball coach for 17 years and won the NCHSAA 2A State Championship in 1980. The winner of this award must be a senior; play at least two sports and has the highest overall GPA. This year’s winners were Olivia Burley and Rodolfo Sandoval, Jr.The “Nathan H. Gay Athlete of the Year” was the last award presented. This award is voted on by the coaching staff of Union High School. This year’s winners were: Female-Lauren Preddy and Male-Dezmond Faison.