Mae B. Butler Memorial Scholarship established

June 16, 2014

KENANSVILLE – The Mae B. Butler Memorial Scholarship has been established at James Sprunt Community College in honor of Mae B. Butler, retired educator from Ferguson-Easley Elementary School in Fayetteville, NC.

Mrs. Butler was an active volunteer for hospice and developer of the breakfast program at St. Joseph’s Episcopal Church in Fayetteville, NC. She was also active in Migrant Missions of Diocese of East Carolina, National Association of University Women, a life member of the National Education Association, and member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority. She resides in Fayetteville.

Established by an anonymous donor, the annual scholarship will award $500 per year for 3 years to a deserving student in the area of elementary education.