Last updated: April 18. 2014 9:44PM - 1129 Views
By - acapps@civitasmedia.com

Sampson County Sports Club President, Tim Pope (Adam Capps/The Sampson Independent)
Sampson County Sports Club President, Tim Pope (Adam Capps/The Sampson Independent)
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Sampson County Sports Club is accepting Hall Of Fame nominations from now until April 30th. Newly elected President of the club, Tim Pope, stated that the person nominated must have ties to Sampson County and must have impacted the county in some ways related to athletics.

In order to get a nomination form, contact your local high school’s athletic director. You must then fill out and return the form to your respective athletic director.

The induction ceremony will be held on November 20th at Union High School. This will be the fifth class inducted to the Sports Hall Of Fame, which lies on the campus of the Sampson County History Museum in Clinton, and houses Sampson County sports artifacts and memorabilia.

Notables to be inducted to the class include Nathan Gay, Walter Reagan, Tommy Sloan, Bob Lewis, Chasity Melvin, Jimmy Byrd, Rube Benton, Terry Holland, Bobby Warren, Walker Bellamy, E.R. Mason, and Jimmy Raynor.

Tim Pope also mentioned his appreciation of his staff, James Lewis, the Vice-President, Russell Jones, the Treasurer, and Al Britt, the Secretary.

Pope hopes for another great class of inductees to the Sampson County Sports Club Hall Of Fame.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Clinton Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com