School board reelects chair, vice chair

By Chase Jordan - [email protected]
Register -
Schmidlin -

After starting a new chapter in the history of Sampson County’s Board of Education, a decision was made to keep the same leaders.

During a Monday night meeting, board members voted unanimously to have Tim Register and Kim Schmidlin remain as chair and vice chair, respectively.

Superintendent Dr. Eric Bracy called for nominations for the policy which required board members to select a board chair and a vice chair at the beginning of the school period. Both Register and Schmidlin were nominated by Pat Usher for their positions, with no other nominees suggested. Before the unanimous decision for chair and vice chair positions, the nominations were seconded and supported by Schmidlin and newcomer Daryll Warren, respectively.

“I want to share for a minute, a heart felt thanks to this board, for the confidence of allowing me to serve again,” Register said. “My goal has always been to try to do what’s best for our school system.”

Register expressed how it’s important for the board to understand how important they are when it comes to making decisions.

“Everybody brings their own skills and knowledge and we try to tap into that and I hope we can continue to do that. I certainly appreciate your confidence in me,” Register said.

The Garland resident has more than 30 years of service to the school system. Register started in the Midway District before teaching to Halls-Piney Grove School in the Hobbton District. He later taught at Garland High School, Clear Run Middle School and Union High School. From there, he became an assistant principal at Lakewood High School and then served as Union Elementary School’s principal. Register also served on advisory boards and is a minister.

Schmidlin resides in the Midway District. She owns and operates Carolina Therapy Services, based in Dunn. The business provides jobs to more than 200 physical, occupational, and speech therapists throughout North Carolina. In 2010 , she was named Dunn’s Woman of the Year. Her business was honored as Dunn’s Business of the Year in 2017.

The vote was made after new and experienced members attended the first regular meeting for the 2018-2019 school year. Oaths were taken by four board members before a work session on Tuesday, July 17. Clerk of Court Dwight Williams administered oaths for newcomers Robert Burley Jr. and Warren, former member Sonya Powell, and Schmidlin. Register welcomed everyone during the meeting.

“We look forward to continue to work them as we move into our new school year,” Register said.


Register, Schmidlin continue leadership roles

By Chase Jordan

[email protected]

Reach Chase Jordan at 910-249-4617. Follow us on Twitter at @SampsonInd and like us on Facebook.

Reach Chase Jordan at 910-249-4617. Follow us on Twitter at @SampsonInd and like us on Facebook.