Boykin part of May 3 anniversary celebration

With their charming style and trademark traditional gospel sound, Michael Boykin and the Mighty Voices are proud to present their new project “Live in Elizabethtown, NC”.

The Mighty Voices are a quartet singing sensation that has had a major impact on the southern traditional gospel style of quartet music since their inception in 2005.

The Mighty Voices have been singing since they were 2 years of age. The group is comprised of Jason Boykin, Marcus Register, and Tyrone Stewart on vocals; Billy Jacobs as lead guitarist; Michael Marable on bass guitar; Alvin Williams on drums; and William “Pooh” Purvis assisting on keyboards. They graciously joined Michael Boykin in months of grueling rehearsals and detailed discussions leading to epic performances.

With major influences such as the late Rev. Howard “Slim” Hunt and the Supremes and Angels and Keith “Wonderboy” Johnson, the Mighty Voices maintain the feel of traditional gospel although they are all young in age.

Michael Boykin and the Mighty Voices have been singing a little over 7 years, but are very accomplished. The Voices are the proud recipients of the 2006 North Carolina Announcers Guild Prestige Award for Group Traditional Duo, 2009 Newsome Music Award Quartet of the Year, 2010 Rhythm of Gospel Award Male Quartet of the year. They have won numerous awards over the years. Michael Boykin and the Mighty Voices have recorded two albums within the past 5 years.

The freshman album entitled “Put God First” and the Newest “Coming Out of The Storm” on Michael Boykin’s recording label Versitle Music Group. The Mighty Voices are continuing the quartet style of signing and will carry the genre well until the end the twenty-first century.

“The Lord Is Blessing Me” and “If I’m Too High” still captivate audiences with the gifted precision of the Mighty Voices complimenting the artistry of the legendary Supreme Angels. As a result of “singing unto him a new song,” the Mighty Voices have been blessed to grace the stage with such great artists as: Kirk Franklin, Evelyn Turentine Agee, Mighty Clouds of Joy, Canton Spirituals, and many others. They are also proud recipients of the 2006 NCGAG Prestige Award for Traditional Group, 2010 Rhythm of Gospel Male Quartet Award, and many others.